Awards and sponsorship

The Eric Loewy Memorial Fund

The ERIC LOEWY MEMORIAL FUND is established in memory of Eric Loewy who was for many years an active member and supporter of PIANC and, in particular, the Commission for Co-operation. The Fund shall be used at the discretion of the Trustees to enable developing country members to participate in PIANC activities. This may include:

  • providing the financial means to enable developing country delegates to attend PIANC Congresses and regional meetings;
  • contribution of travel and living expenses to enable developing country members to participate in PIANC Working Groups;
  • financial support (fees, travel, living expenses) to enable 'Young Engineers' from developing countries to attend recognised training courses;

and other similar activities that the Trustees deem to be in accordance with the general objective of making PIANC accessible to the widest possible international membership.

De Paepe - Willems Award

The DE PAEPE - WILLEMS AWARD is given annually in honour of Professor Gustave Willems, president of PIANC from 1956 until his death in 1982. As the PIANC President for seventeen years, Robert De Paepe fostered the international spirit and the professional development of PIANC. In 2002, it was decided to merge the "Foundation Robert De Paepe" with the Gustave Willems Award. As from 2003, the former Gustave Willems Award will be known as the "De Paepe-Willems Award".  Contestants for the prize are required to submit a paper on subjects in the fields of design, construction, improvement, maintenance of operation of inland and maritime waterways (rivers, estuaries, canals, port approaches), of inland and maritime ports and of coastal areas. The Award consists of an amount of €4.000  and free membership of PIANC for a 3 year period.

Visit https://www.pianc.org/awards/pianc-de-paepe-willems-award for further information.

2019 Awards

The PIANC-UK Competition and Prizes
The UK Section is holding a preliminary national competition to encourage and support UK entries to the global competition and strongly invites entries from YP members and non-members of PIANC.

Entries will be judged by a panel from the PIANC-UK Committee and the prizes will be

  • 1st Prize £750; 2nd Prize £500; 3rd Prize £250.

Deadline for submission: 28 June 2019
Winners announced: 16 August 2019.

The PIANC International Competition and Prizes
Entries will be judged by an international panel from the PIANC Executive Committee.  The prizes will be:

  • 1st Prize: €4000 + free PIANC Membership for 3 years + travel and accommodation to present the paper at the 2018 Annual General Assembly (AGA) in Panama
  • 2nd Prize: €2000 + free PIANC Membership for 1 year
  • 3rd Prize: €1000 + free PIANC Membership for 1 year.

Deadline for submission: 31 August 2019

Jack Nichol Award for Outstanding Marina Design

JACK NICHOL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING MARINA DESIGN is presented annually for outstanding marina design, in memory of the late Jack Nichol, honorary member of PIANC and well known marina designer. The purpose of the Award is to recognize excellence in the design of modern recreational boating facilities around the world. Anyone may submit an application to be considered for the Jack Nichol Award. The Award consists of a bronze plaque suitable for display.


logo trelleborg boskalis

© 2006 International Navigationssociation (PIANC) UK Section